FO: New Beginnings

New Beginnings
Pattern: New Beginnings
Yarn: Malabrigo Rios (Playa, Paris Night)
View My Ravelry Project

I last mentioned this project during my summary of January WIPs, when I was nearly finished but had run out of Playa a mere six or seven rows from the end. I was deciding whether to purchase a third hank or switch to Paris Night for the remainder of the shawl.

After a week and a half of deliberation and prompted by free shipping at WEBS, I finally ordered the third hank. And I’m glad that I did. I think maintaining the patterning between Playa and Paris Night was the right decision.

New Beginnings

I should mention that the alternating Color A lace sections and Color B not-lace sections originates with (as far as I can tell) KnittingDogz.

So, this shawl turned out quite large. It’s 82″ from tip to tip and almost 33″ along the center spine. The Mister thinks it’s also my fanciest-looking shawl due to the alternating colors, even though it might not be the most technical or advanced shawl pattern. Another non-knitting friend commented that this is her favorite thing I’ve ever knit.

I think it’s a nice shawl. But I’m not bowled over by it. Possibly because these aren’t colors I’m particularly drawn to. I’m still deciding what to do with it. I have a feeling that it’ll be “my shawl,” until I realize that I never wear it and an opportunity arises that I need a knitted gift.


Edited on 18 February 2017: The mother of one of my dear friends recently became quite ill, so I’ve decided to give her this shawl as a get-well-soon gift.

Leave a Reply

