FO: French Cancan

French Cancan
French Cancan
Pattern: French Cancan
Yarn: Madelinetosh Tosh DK (Mineral)
View My Ravelry Project

French Cancan has been in my Ravelry queue since July of last year and in my mental queue for even longer than that. I usually try to have an easy shawl going, especially when I’m working on fingering- or sport-weight projects, and the French Cancan’s mindless garter stitch and DK yarn was a good choice. The body of the shawl knits up very quickly, and the chart is easily memorized. Once I turned my attention to the border, it was completed in just a couple days.

I weighed my yarn as I knit, hoping to use up as much of it as possible. I started with 241g and knit the body until I had 103g left, approximately 42%. The pattern suggests leaving 40% for the applied lace edging, but I decided to err on the side of caution and avoid a game of yarn chicken. I still had 8g of yarn left when I completed the shawl, so I probably could have done a few more rows on the body.

Leave a Reply

